Not trying to “Find Myself”…

At least 3 people have mentioned that they hope that I am successful in “finding myself” on my trip, or that “maybe what you are looking for is already here”.
Let me clear up some confusion.

Just because someone chooses a different path in life than most people, does not mean that they are lost or are looking for something.

I am not going on this trip to “Find Myself”. I am not leaving my hometown to look for anything. I have already found myself, and that is why I am going.

While it is true that many others have chosen long term travel as a way to learn more about themselves and what they want out of life, that is not my reason. My reason is simply because it is something that I have always wanted to do and now I am fortunate enough to actually do it. I “found myself” while working, interacting with others, and just going through the daily activities of life. I know exactly what I want out of my life right now. I also know that what I want may change as I travel and get older, and I am not afraid to change my mind and change myself.

 

Have you ever done something in order to find yourself, or did it just come with age?
Are you afraid of change?

Leave a Reply

