Back in Singapore! Palau Ubin Trip!!!

Well, Cambodia was great. I had planned to stay for two weeks, but we had to leave a week early…my brother got sick, and we did not want to go to a Cambodian hospital. We flew right back to Singapore. That’s ok though. The week in Phnom Penh was fun, and I learned a lot. I really liked the hostel that we stayed in. It is called the Mad Monkey, and was only 20 per night for 2 people in a private room with two beds and a bathroom. Now, it is a hostel, not a luxury hotel, and it did not have a TV in the room and the AC did not blow out as cold as I wanted it, but I think that it was worth the money. There was a restaurant and bar downstairs, and upstairs there was a skybar that had a bar, huge sofas and a tv and a pool table. The skybar was open air and you could just sit out and look over the city after a long day of sightseeing. Ahhhh, I spent so many days relaxing.

So, now I am back in Singapore. It feels good to be back in a country where you do not have to take tuk-tuks everywhere and have to bargain when buying clothes. I can get everywhere by either taking the bus or Metro or walking. For the trip to Palau Ubin, we had to use all three. We had to take a long ride on the metro, transfer to a bus, take a bus ride for like 45 minutes, and then walk to the ferry terminal. Then take a ferry for about 15 minutes to get to Palau Ubin. I was starting to wonder if all of that travel was worth it. And then I got there and realized, yes it was worth every minute.

Palau Ubin is the second largest offshore island of Singapore. It is undeveloped and a great place to get away from the city. The only things to really do there are eat and rent bicycles to ride around the island, so that’s what we did! The scenery was beautiful and it felt like I was in a jungle. No wait, it felt like I was in the jungle, because I was in a jungle. There are no skyscrapers and the only buildings are a few restaurants and few people’s houses tucked away among the trees. There are 2 hotels and a free campsite, but I wouldn’t stay there because I could just go back to the main island.

There were wild packs of dogs all over the island, but they don’t pay people any attention because I guess they are so used to them. There were paved bike trails as well as dirt trails, but I was scared to take the dirt trails. It was really fun though, and I want to go again. It’s cheap to get there and to rent the bike is only $5. I forgot how fun it is to ride a bicycle, and like, you know, when you go down the hills, it be real exiting right?! I was going all fast!

Fresh Fried fish and other foods at Palau Ubin Restaurant

Fresh Fried fish and other foods at Palau Ubin Restaurant

Yes, that is a whole fish, and it was soooooo delicious.

Yes, that is a whole fish, and it was soooooo delicious.

Nature on Palau Ubin

Nature on Palau Ubin

WP_000676 WP_000679

That's me. Shortly after this picture a huge spider jumped on my leg while riding the bike, and I almost fell off!

That’s me. Shortly after this picture a huge spider jumped on my leg while riding the bike, and I almost fell off!

I was in the jungle!

I was in the jungle!

He can ride bikes, too.

He can ride bikes, too.

3 responses to “Back in Singapore! Palau Ubin Trip!!!

  1. The info is very interesting.  I am learning a lot from the pictures and the information.  And… I am saving everything in your folder.

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

