Grid 9 Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

While staying in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia I slept in possibly the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is called GRID 9 Hotel and is right next to the Maharajalela Monorail station. This is very convenient because it is easy to get around the city, however, if you ever need to take a taxi back to the hostel, the taxi driver will never know where it is. Be sure to bring the card with the map with you that they give out at the hostel, but even then, be prepared that the taxi driver will not know how to get there. You can mention the Mandarin Court Hotel since it is a huge hotel next to Grid 9, and this may give you better luck.

I stayed in a six person female only dorm. The beds were extremely comfortable and came with 2 fluffy pillows, and a towel. I like how the beds were pods and provided a lot of privacy. The rooms also had a bathroom attached to the room, so I didn’t have to leave the room and walk around the hotel just to use the toilet or shower.

Downstairs the hostel had a small restaurant, which is great, so that we could grab breakfast there before heading out for the day. They also had a really nice lounge with 2 computers and 3 tablets for internet use, a huge tv that stayed on the movie channel, and lots of books and board games. We ended up playing monopoly and laying around on the huge bean bags until like 3 in the morning drinking beer. It was awesome.

The price for the six person female only dorm was RM37 ($11.50 US dollars). It was super clean and the guys at reception were super helpful with directions and suggestions on places to go. When I come back to KL I will stay here for sure. They also have single rooms where you do not have to share with anyone and comes with your own bathroom. I doubt I will stay in that though, because I am a cheapo!

My pod at Grid 9!

My pod at Grid 9!

P1040320

P1040321

3 responses to “Grid 9 Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  1. Hey Sherri that looks just like a college dorm room.. I can sleep in something like that..

Leave a Reply

