No Rain, Can’t Get the Rainbow: Seoul Day 2

So, the last two days have been pretty shitty. I decided that it would be best if I just staying in the hotel room and watch Mad Men episodes and eat snacks, so that is what I did all day yesterday.

Today, I woke up with a plan to do something, anything, even though it was raining pretty hard. There is this thing outside of my window, and I had no idea what it was, so my first goal was to walk to it and check it out. It is called the Namdaemun Gate, and it is the first National Treasure of Korea.

I would look through my window at night, and be like, huh?

I would look through my window at night, and be like, huh?

This is what it looks like during a rainy day!

This is what it looks like during a rainy day!

The Namdaemun Gate is  officially known as the Sungnyemun Gate.

The Namdaemun Gate is officially known as the Sungnyemun Gate.

This is part of the ceiling of the gate.

This is part of the ceiling of the gate.

See, I was there!

See, I was there!

Next, I was super hungry and didn’t want to eat overpriced food at the hotel, so I walked down the street towards the subway station until I reached a restaurant that looked good. I even saw a Subway (eat fresh!) on the way there.  I don’t speak a word of Korean, so I just walked in, and said “Bibimbap” the name of one of the 5 Korean dishes that I knew, and prayed that they had it. They did! It was only KRW 5,500 (around US$ 4.77).

You can still get that Italian Sub in Korea

You can still get that Italian Sub in Korea

Yummy! And NO, Those are not worms! They are mushrooms.

Yummy! And NO, Those are not worms! They are mushrooms.

After that I went to the National Museum of Korea. There is not much to say about it, a museum is a museum is a museum, but I will say that I learned that Korea is old. Like, stone age old. Like paintings on rocks old. I didn’t know that. I also learned, that if you are a black person in a Korean museum, you are on exhibit as well!

This is where kings sit!

This is where kings sit!

WP_000798

Next up was the Namsangol Hanok Village. It is a village where traditional Korean houses were restored. It was pretty cool to see how the houses looked and all of the rooms that they had.

WP_000810 WP_000813 WP_000820 WP_000824

I returned to the hotel around 8pm and am now doing my most favorite thing in the world…eating snacks, drinking alcohol, and watching a movie. There is a kiddy movie on tv, and even though it sucks, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson is in it, so that makes up for the teenagers in it. He fine.

I have no idea what type of liquor this is. I only got it because it was near the other alcohol, was only KRW 1,200 (about US $1.05) and ...

I have no idea what type of liquor this is. I only got it because it was near the other alcohol, was only KRW 1,200 (about US $1.05) and …

...It had Oppa Psy on the back!

…It had Oppa Psy on the back!

No one cares about their teenage dramas.

No one cares about their teenage dramas.

Yes, Please!

Yes, Please!

Another super thing about today, is that all of the places that I went had no entrance fee! So today, I spent less than US $20, and that includes food, liquor, snacks, and subway rides!

I am glad that I made an effort to get out and explore the city a little. The subway station is pretty convenient and everyplace is close to a station. Also, whenever I looked confused, people came up and tried to help me!!! That never happened in Singapore! So I can say, so far, Korean people are a nice people. I have to admit, it is a little scary to be in a city that I have never been before, but as long as I don’t die, I will just count whatever happens as an adventure!

3 responses to “No Rain, Can’t Get the Rainbow: Seoul Day 2

  1. Never dreamed that you would be so adventurous.

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

