Let Me Find out Moses is here! And a Fox’s Wedding? My day at Miura Kaigan Beach.

Libraries in Asia be crowded. That, coupled with the gorgeous weather, made me want to go and study at the beach today. Usually I go to the boardwalk behind Shopper’s Plaza or Mikasa Park, but today, I thought it would be good to study and have my feet in the sand. So I went to Miurakaigan beach.

I brought a bento of kimchi and rice for a small picnic. Kimchi (Korean style “spicy” pickled CABBAGE) is soooooo good, but please be warned. Make sure that you pack it in an airtight container.

I didn’t.

The kimchi juices leaked.

I smelled weird all the way to the beach.

Other than that, it was a perfect day. There wasn’t that many people at the beach, so I had all of the sunshine to myself. I didn’t plan to get in the water, and that is a good thing. It turned out that there was a red tide (algae bloom) and the freaking water was RED. I was like uh-uhn. Let me find out Moses is at this beach. Turning water red and stuff. Naw. I don’t have time for biblical plagues.

I also saw some kids playing with fireworks. Half of me though that was real cute. But then, the other half was like, OH, HELL NO! Someone needs to get these kids away from these explosives!

On another note, there was a Kitsune no Yomeiri, today. That means a fox’s wedding. I remember one day I was riding in the car with my Aunt Pattie and it was raining while the sun was out. She said it was because the devil was beating his wife. Well, in Japan, they say that when the sun is out and it is raining (a sun shower), it is because there is a Fox’s wedding. Not a regular fox, but a fox spirit. Spirit, meaning not a ghost, but more like something not from this world that has powers. They are known for being sneaky tricksters, but also faithful lovers, sometimes taking human form, and marrying men, and even after being found out that they are really a fox and can no longer be with their loved one, they still help the human that they love. I always liked that and even thought about getting a tattoo of a kitsune, and last night I had a dream that I was getting married. So, when I saw the sun-shower today, somehow, it made me happy and I took it as a good omen. Maybe that means that I will have some good luck, like getting an A on the subject that I was studying. I don’t know.

Does anyone else know any sayings about sun showers?

Oh. I know I need to eat more than that. But it was soooooo delicious. Kimchi should win some sort of award.

Oh. I know I need to eat more than that. But it was soooooo delicious. Kimchi should win some sort of award.

That's my shaddow, ya'll. Even my shaddow is cute.

That’s my shaddow, ya’ll. Even my shaddow is cute.

WP_000989

Feet. Sand. Is there a better combination?

Feet. Sand. Is there a better combination?

Studying.

Studying.

No, that is not a trick of light. The water is RED.

No, that is not a trick of light. The water is RED.

Look, there is a bar named after me!!!

Look, there is a bar named after me!!!

See that building with the red light? That is a Koban, a police box. They can be found all over Japan. Go here if you are in trouble or need directions! Yes, I said directions. Japanense addresses are not like American ones with street names and stuff. If you are lost, they will help you.

See that building with the red light? That is a Koban, a police box. They can be found all over Japan. Go here if you are in trouble or need directions! Yes, I said directions. Japanense addresses are not like American ones with street names and stuff. If you are lost, they will help you.

One response to “Let Me Find out Moses is here! And a Fox’s Wedding? My day at Miura Kaigan Beach.

Leave a Reply

