Swallowtail Butler Cafe in Ikebukuro, Tokyo…They called me Princess, Ya’ll!

I know that many of you have heard of maid cafes in Japan (a cafe where you go and the waitress dress and act like maids), but have you ever heard of a butler cafe? Well, now you have. Listen to my story about me going to one.

You can't take pictures in the cafe, but I snuck this one!

You can’t take pictures in the cafe, but I snuck this one!

First off, I have to warn you that butler cafes are rare. There are only 2 that I know of, and you have to have a reservation for both, which are hard to come by. One of them has only foreign men working there and one has only Japanese men working there. I choose the one with the Japanese men because I was in Japan. I’ll get to see white butlers in America.

The place is called the Swallowtail Butlers Cafe and it is located in Ikebukuro, Tokyo. It is kind of hard to find, so if you are looking for it, it is located in the basement floor of a building that has a K-Books on the second floor. When I came in, the doorman outside confirmed my reservation and then he called me Madam Sherri. I giggled. That’s right, ya’ll, I giggled.

They walk  you in and take your purse and coat and introduce the footman and your own personal butler. They were both dressed in tuxedos with the tails on them. Like real butlers. Like Jeffrey from the Fresh Prince of Bel Air. I forgot my butler’s name, but that’s ok. The important thing is that he remembered mine, which for the night was “Madam” or “Ojousama”. They only speak EXTREMELY FORMAL JAPANESE which kinda sucked because I kept having to ask them to repeat things. I mean, come on butlers…do I even look like I understand Japanese? Keep it simple please…

They walk you to your table which is in a room that looks like an old Victorian living room with beautiful tables and chairs. At the table there is a bell that you get to pick up and ring whenever you need something, such as your purse, your tea poured, or are ready to order. I felt kind of weird at first to ring a real actual golden bell to get someones attention, but I got used to it. I got used to it too much. Ok, I started to love it.

I ordered King Lear snack set, but there are other sets that you can choose from, some with only tea and desserts, and others with sandwiches or quiches. My set included tea (I choose the Red Dragon tea, because it sounded real asian), beef stew, a small salad, a roll, and dessert. Usually, at themed cafes or restaurants the food is not very tasty, but my beef stew was so good that I was surprised.

Now, on to the most important part, the main part to come to a place like this, the only reason to pay damn near $30 for a soup, salad, and tea – THE BUTLERS. They are all supposed to be handsome men, and while they were good looking, they were like, pretty boys. It looked like they all took too long to do their hair in the morning, which is great for some ladies, but not for me. I wish my butler had a buzz cut and a 5 o’clock shadow. Then I would have liked him more, and it would have made my tea taste about 10% better.

All in all, I would recommend that if you are a lady and want to be treated like a princess, and are ever in Tokyo, you should definitely try to go to this restaurant. It is a unique Japanese experience and was super fun.

This picture has nothing to do with anything, but I will just put it in this post. It is of me in front of the rainbow bridge in Tokyo!

In front of rainbow bridge in Tokyo

In front of rainbow bridge in Tokyo

 

6 responses to “Swallowtail Butler Cafe in Ikebukuro, Tokyo…They called me Princess, Ya’ll!

  1. Thanks for your review! And thanks for the info that Swallowtail is in the basement – I couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t see it from Google Street view 😛

      • I’m going next month, which is why I was looking for reviews, and yours popped up straightaway when I searched. I had some good giggles reading it – great job! Thank goodness I’m into the typical Japanese bishounen look, although I’m also partial to a five o’clock shadow 😉

      • Oh! It just occurred to me – would the experience suck if I can’t speak Japanese? 😦 And I’d be going alone too…

      • I don’t think it will suck. Some of the staff can speak a little bit of English, but they are very concerned with making sure that you have a good time, so to me, that makes up for the language barrier. Just don’t be afraid to use any little bit of Japanese you know, or just talk to them in English about anything whether they understand it or not! They are friendly!

Leave a Reply

