Part 1 of 3: Two Days, Two Cities, No Sleep – My Tokyo/Yokohama Aimless Wanderings aka Adventure

I was in Tokyo on my way to a robot show (please click the link…it might not be what you are thinking of…) and got utterly lost and couldn’t find it. Japanese addresses do not have street names, so it is super hard to find things if your cell phone does not have data. Mine didn’t.  So I called up some friends and asked them what they were doing. What I thought would be a cool dinner, turned out to be one of the longest days of my life. We randomly wandered around two of Japan’s biggest cities for almost 48 hours. The following is our tale.

Samgyeopsal, Korean pork barbeque.

Samgyeopsal, Korean pork barbeque. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First we met for dinner at a Korean restaurant that specializes in Samgyeopsal, thick slices of pork belly that you grill at your table, served with lettuce to wrap it in and sauces. It was so good and fatty, but fatty in a good way. So after getting ridiculously full on meat, we went to a karaoke box to sing all night. For you all who don’t know what a karaoke box is, it is a private room where it is just big enough for the people who are in your party to karaoke, and they charge by the hour and per person. You can even go by yourself (I often do) or you can go with a lot of people. Either way, you are not in front of a crowd in a bar with people you don’t know. They also serve food and alcohol and most are open until around 5 or 6 am in the morning and some are open for 24 hours. If you go past a certain time, usually 11pm, you are in the free time, which means that it is one set price per person. So we karaoked  all night until the free time was over. It was super fun, but at some point I think I went deliriously insane. I had not gotten a good nights rest the night before, maybe around 4 hours, so I was sleepy all day anyway. So while singing Angels Song by Ayumi-sama, I started laughing hysterically. This was the first time that I karaoked all night, and the first time that I had hot wine (sorry tea).

After that, we went to a Johnathan’s, which is like an IHOP that serves breakfast and dinner food, and our first waiter treated us like crap and was mad at us because he had a job! We stayed there for like 3 hours, and it was still only like 8. We didn’t want to go home because we knew we would end up falling asleep and screwing up our sleep schedule. So we had to make plans for the rest of the day to stay up…

Really? FULL of black music? Oh, Japan...you Cray Cray.

Really? FULL of black music? Oh, Japan…you Cray Cray.

2 responses to “Part 1 of 3: Two Days, Two Cities, No Sleep – My Tokyo/Yokohama Aimless Wanderings aka Adventure

  1. Pingback: Part 2 of 3: Two Days, Two Cities, No Sleep – My Tokyo/Yokohama Aimless Wanderings aka Adventure | My Due Time·

  2. Pingback: Part 3 of 3: Two Days, Two Cities, No Sleep – My Tokyo/Yokohama Aimless Wanderings aka Adventure | My Due Time·

Leave a Reply

