Tokyo Bucket List: Life Sized Gundams, Print Clubs, and Busking

With only a few days left, I needed to make my Tokyo bucket list dreams come true. I would always see this guy singing and playing guitar on the crosswalk outside of Yokosuka-chuuoh station. I was jealous. I wanted to sing in the streets too, but I didn’t have a guitar or microphone, so I just listened to him and thought “maybe one day…”. One day, after karaoke, we got the bright idea to busk (sing in the streets for money) so I ran with the idea and we decided that next day we would busk around Shibuya station, where I sang Goodbye Days by Yui. It was so random and awesome. There was a huge to scale Gundam in Odaiba that had not seen yet, so we decided to busk around that, too (I sang Re: I Am by Aimer, a sond from Gundam X). We didn’t have a microphone, so we just had to sing to the top of our lungs! Guess how much money we made? If you guessed more than 1 cent, you are wrong! We didn’t make any money, but now I can cross busking off of my bucket list.

We went and got print clubs (aka purikura), which was interesting. Print clubs are photo booths where, after you take the picture, you can draw on it, add words and pictures, and they usually have some special feature, such as making one look thinner or lighter. The one that we went to was in Harajuku, located on the basement floor, and there were about 20 purikura booths, and about 100 preteens. WE WERE THE OLDEST PEOPLE IN THERE. It was kinda funny to see the kids in there. It was also kinda freaky because we saw people wearing wierd contacts that make the colored part of your eyes bigger. The purikura booth that we chose had a feature that makes your eyes bigger and your face and chin slimmer, which in turn made me look like an alien.

Fun day.

Good-bye, Japan. We shall meet again.

Here is our busking sign! It reads "Saving up for a guitar!" We did not have a guitar, we only had a pair of speakers and a intrumental versions of the songs we wanted to sing!

Here is our busking sign! It reads “Saving up for a guitar!” We did not have a guitar, we only had a pair of speakers and a intrumental versions of the songs we wanted to sing!

Since we had decided only the night before to busk, I did not have time to memorize the lyrics. Thats why I was looking down at my phone.

Since we had decided only the night before to busk, I did not have time to memorize the lyrics. Thats why I was looking down at my phone.

After realizing that people had to get extremely close to hear us, we changed the sign to read "Saving up for a microphone"

After realizing that people had to get extremely close to hear us, we changed the sign to read “Saving up for a microphone”

My eyes are not really that huge!

My eyes are not really that huge!

gundam

IT'S A GUNDAMMMM!!!!

IT’S A GUNDAMMMM!!!!

2 responses to “Tokyo Bucket List: Life Sized Gundams, Print Clubs, and Busking

Leave a Reply

